Posted by: Schuyler R. Thorpe | October 14, 2011

Been away, nursing toothaches and migraines

By my accounts, it’s been nearly a month since I last checked in. 

Not to worry: I haven’t forgotten. My Quick Topic posts haven’t accumulated to more than 80 in the past 28 days–with several days with having nothing at all. (News had been oddly slow for some unknown reason. Nothing to archive.)

But this month has been a rather painful one. Either it was due to my teeth-grinding and jaw-clenching that I do during my sleep–I don’t know–but I ended up with two toothaches that had me knocking back 600mg pain pills that would make my Vicodin and hydrocodone jealous.

On top of that, I’ve been dealing with tension headaches and migraines for the past three weeks–robbing me of energy and motivation to do anything but take it easy, try to recoup a bit, and pray that this shit goes away and I can go back to resuming my normal schedule.

The weather here in the Pacific Northwest has also been changing and that has had a detrimental impact on my well-being and health too; not to say that I haven’t been used to the weather all this time for the past 16 years…

Sometimes it catches up with you and other times…? It doesn’t.

This year has been especially on the strange side for acute weather patterns. Estimates are that the Pineapple Express is going to be especially brutal this year and we could be seeing a repeat of 1996 all over again: Where we got blizzard conditions in Everett Washington, two feet of snow, and temps into the 20s. (Not too mention the horrendous flooding that took place after the snow melt and continued thaw.)

My job-hunting has been fruitless to say the least. I can’t say that I’ve been all that successful in finding a part-time job in any profession, but I keep trying. I also learned that the average job opening now has 4.6 applicants per job and that we are–technically–in is called the “Lesser Depression”.

It would also explain a great number of things these past few years and why the economy hasn’t really picked up steam. From my perspective, I’ve been getting a sense that something was amiss all these months, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.

This wasn’t your normal recession or recovery. It would also explain why I’ve had such a hard time landing a job these last few months.

But I keep trying.

My writing has been put on hold for a little while–partly due to the pain and agony I’ve been feeling these past few weeks. But the time away has been allowing me a chance to recharge my batteries and look at my work with a fresh perspective. (The last being my new “power word” for the day. ^_^)

I’ve added a couple new novels to my arsenal and that–I believe–stretches things to 10 or 12 new books for 2011.

I can’t wait to get started and really haul ass.

Hopefully, 2012 will be a better year. ^_^

-Schuyler Thorpe

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Jefferies Tube

Boldly Blogging Where Many Have Blogged Before...

Gypsy Nerds

Gett'n our travel on!

Dreams of Dark Angels

The blog of fantasy writer Storm Constantine

H.J. Bradley

The world of an aspiring indie author.

Q13 FOX News

Seattle and Western Washington's source for breaking news, weather, and sports. Home of Washington’s Most Wanted and the Seattle Seahawks.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

Monica Enderle Pierce

Stories that stay with you.

Kait Nolan

love . empowerment. hope

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Wildhorse33's Blog

freeing the creative spirit

Here's To Us

Nerdiness Encouraged

