Posted by: Schuyler R. Thorpe | April 11, 2012

Busy year or another slow month?

Not much has been happening for the past month. It’s been pretty slow on the book front. I’ve managed to get some more writing done on The Starchild–adding new material for the book and getting a few chapters done in the process.

By my estimates, I should have close to 350,000 words done on the book…not the original 430,000 word count deadline I imposed on myself so loftily late last month and on Twitter.

Not to say that the idea of hitting 430,000 words is tempting and rewarding, but given what’s transpiring in the newly revamped beginning for the book so far, I would never be able to break past the extra 40,000 words tops. 

And that is just how the writing has played itself out. Not me forcing the issue or anything.

Maybe someday, I’ll be able to hit 430,000 in one fell swoop (The Price of Freedom doesn’t technically count because even though it is one giant novel in progress, it isn’t a novel in itself. It’s something else entirely: A true series perhaps?), but The Starchild, Starchild Duel, Starchild Crossfire, and Starchild Ruin will most likely only strike a balance between 300,000 and 400,000 words at the minimum when they are done. 

(For those of you who are telling me to give up on my writing, it’s something that I cannot do. Sorry, but it’s in my blood. It’s been like this for 25 years now–ever since I was a teenager. Before the internet. Before Wikipedia, Google, or Yahoo! It’s an obsession. But you’re more than welcome–of course–to pick up the torch in my stead, if you feel that I’m too inept at this profession to continue as a writer.  In fact, I would encourage you to do so, just to see if you could outdo me on this particular writing front. That is…if you have what it takes to be the better writer.

Because like I told someone the other day on Facebook: “I don’t think that even Stephen King could write 350,000 words.”)

Perhaps Starchild Vengeance will be the trendsetter.

 The year hasn’t been very productive writing wise, but that’s because so much has been going on. Outside of my 130th job application, my third job interview in the matter of months, I’ve cut my time over at Labor Ready by a third so I could volunteer at the local food bank.

This week I’ve taken off because I’ve had doctor appointments and I just got two more teeth pulled today. So I’m not risking going anywhere for several days until I’ve had time to heal.


Leave a Reply

Categories

The Jefferies Tube

Boldly Blogging Where Many Have Blogged Before...

Gypsy Nerds

Gett'n our travel on!

Dreams of Dark Angels

The blog of fantasy writer Storm Constantine

H.J. Bradley

The world of an aspiring indie author.

Q13 FOX News

Seattle and Western Washington's source for breaking news, weather, and sports. Home of Washington’s Most Wanted and the Seattle Seahawks.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

Monica Enderle Pierce

Stories that stay with you.

Kait Nolan

smart. sassy. southern

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Wildhorse33's Blog

freeing the creative spirit

Here's To Us

Nerdiness Encouraged

