Posted by: Schuyler R. Thorpe | May 11, 2012

The Price of Freedom: Notice To All Readers! ^_^

I’ve been debating for the past day whether or not to take down the draft chapters of the massive tome already up or leave them as is and continue posting new chapters–knowing that there’s a continuity glitch in the first 900 pages.

The reasoning behind this move (and I don’t make them very often) is because of what happened yesterday:

I was going over one of Harry Turtledove’s novels (American Empire: Blood and Iron) in the food bank lunch room where I’ve been volunteering two days a week for the past couple of months now; in lieu of a job. (What can you do?)

And I’ve been bopping along, reading the last 306 pages and taking notes of where the action is–through this handy-dandy map that’s been printed on the inside of the book–give or take a couple of pages; noting where the Confederate States and the United States currently reside.

(For the life of me, I started measuring the distance between let’s say St. Matthew’s in South Carolina and Augusta, Georgia.)

Now, I don’t know where it started off from, but it got me to thinking about The Price of Freedom and in particular the distance my two characters had to cross in the book–somewhere about Chapter 9 or Chapter 10-ish–to start.

There was no way in hell that Kayla Sorenson and Kenneth Sparks could make it from Washington D.C. all the way to Lexington, Virginia in just five days time.

There’s no way!

Especially in the dead of winter. The old road/transportation network is still up and running–to some degree–in the year 2165-66, but they aren’t Olympic super-athletes. They couldn’t have covered the initial part of their journey in just a few days time–let alone in five.

Statisically…impossible.

I’m blaming myself mostly for this outrageous mistake. But I’m surprised that nobody in the 8 years the draft has been available online–has sought to point out this egregious error either. (No, this wasn’t personal pride or anything getting in the way, people: But one honest mistake on my part.)

You see, when I write science-fiction/fantasy, I don’t take into account geographical distances and time. I really don’t! So when I started out on The Price of Freedom, the story elements never bothered to clue me in on the unintentional gaffe that I had created for myself and then multiplied that point by a factor of ten as I progressed.

Fortunately–and I don’t know how this is possible–but the story line is shockingly…intact. There’s nothing wrong with what I wrote so far–outside of this glaring mistake. It just took me 2 hours last night to fix and modify the dates and a few other problem areas.

So…

Given what I implemented, everything chronicled in said events written from Chapters 120 to 125 (roundabout) takes place between June and July–not May; as I penned originally in.

It’s confusing–yes, I know–but things would’ve been worse had the book actually gone to print! lol

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Jefferies Tube

Boldly Blogging Where Many Have Blogged Before...

Gypsy Nerds

Gett'n our travel on!

Dreams of Dark Angels

The blog of fantasy writer Storm Constantine

Passion with a Dark and Dangerous Twist

A site for romance and thriller author, Cassandre Dayne

H.J. Bradley

The world of an aspiring indie author.

Q13 FOX News

Seattle and Western Washington's source for breaking news, weather, and sports. Home of Washington’s Most Wanted and the Seattle Seahawks.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

Monica Enderle Pierce

Stories that stay with you.

Kait Nolan

Smart, sassy, small town Southern romance that makes you feel like home

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Wildhorse33's Blog

freeing the creative spirit

Here's To Us

Nerdiness Encouraged

