Posted by: Schuyler R. Thorpe | September 14, 2012

Summer Dreaming…

Summer is almost at a end and so begins another year of wild weather and warmer winters for the Pacific Northwest. (What, were you expecting snow? Not where I live–sorry to say.)

Strangely enough, the past month has led me on one wild adventure after another in terms of dream cycles and writing.

I did about eight chapters on my Rogue Planet novel over the course of August (where I was putting out fifteen pages a day for about seven or eight days), and then gradually petered out.

Not from a lack of interest, mind you, but just busy with a whole lot of things. I was surprised that I got so much writing done in such a short amount of time.

I really wanted to crank on this novel because of its unique story line: My namesake being trapped in the past by about 890 million years and having no way back. (Yet.) 

The plot bunnies were busy as a bee on this book–seeing how there would be no antagonist to speak of. Just a long and intensive journey. So there was plenty of room for me to stretch and flex my imagination at a more glacier pace, but a steady one nonetheless.

So by September, I was still putting around with the book–adding a little here, a little there; not quite finished with the eighth chapter–just a long and lazy drive towards the end. But I never finished the chapter. 

As I’ve said, a lot of things have been commanding my attention as of late. The past week was a mild cold brought on by my allergies: I had run out of Singulair and was waiting for my provider to make up its mind on whether to approve me for the generic stuff. (They did.)

But I was eager to get started on another couple of book projects that had sprung up: One is a paranormal/romance novel called Sticks and Stones, and another is a parody of both Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey.

The first book is based on a dream that I had just a few days before the first and I wrote down as much as I could and got the premise down to a science:  

Either during the Dark Ages or the Middle Ages, a church buries somebody in the ground and erects a granite tombstone with some unintelligible words (I couldn’t either see them in my dream or I just have a fried memory) etched into the surface and eroded by time. The granite slab on the tomb has a large chain (neck chain) with either a silver cross in the beginning and/or a blue amulet (like the Heart of the Ocean necklace from “Titanic”) later on. (Don’t ask.)

But it’s something that the church doesn’t want to be disturbed.

And as luck would have it, the tomb is either disturbed or its magics are removed (again, I don’t know which–this part of the dream was never revealed to me) and someone shows up in the church next door to the forgotten cemetery. A girl…? A woman? I don’t know. But she’s a vampire (I think) and looking for something that was lost. Something that was hers, but is no longer with her.

The priest’s son offers to help this wayward soul on her journey, but again, I don’t know much about what’s going on. Just a strange connection with what I saw in my dream.

***

So as I’ve said, my dreams as of late have become my source inspirations for some new novels coming down the pike. Of course, I can’t guarantee they’ll be finished in time. Most of this year, I’ve been bouncing around from one book project to the next. And it’s not likely going to change.

Not until I get a new apartment with my own office space.

The second book is–as I said–a parody of Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey. The story line for that one will either follow the same story arc of Twilight or begin something new that is Twilight but isn’t. I’ve never done a parody, but the mechanics behind creating one is the same: The characters are changed, the story has changed to some degree, but the overall feel for the book remains the same.

I won’t know for a couple more months until I’ve had a chance to test the waters on this one. But it’s going to be funny as well as absurd at the same time. I’ve been dreaming up some interesting scenarios and scenes for the book already and I can’t wait to get started.

But I’m also doing some research into parodies and making sure that what I’m doing doesn’t fall into the same category as fan-fiction. (Because I really don’t like Twilight and I loathe Fifty Shades of Grey.)

I’ve also reserved a copy of Twilight at the Lake Stevens library too.

Anyway…as soon as my cold gets done in the next week or so, I plan on getting started on both books. I also have Megastar to do as well. I promised Mark Allen Shaffer that I would crank out some chapters to appease him on another front: He wants to publish immediately (since he was only self-published five years ago), but I keep trying to coach him on the merits of patience.

Writing and publishing are two different things. But they both require time and patience. You can’t rush the process.

Responses

  1. Poor Mark. I guess he was right about you. Karma will bite your ass.


Leave a Reply

Categories

The Jefferies Tube

Boldly Blogging Where Many Have Blogged Before...

Gypsy Nerds

Gett'n our travel on!

Dreams of Dark Angels

The blog of fantasy writer Storm Constantine

Passion with a Dark and Dangerous Twist

A site for romance and thriller author, Cassandre Dayne

H.J. Bradley

The world of an aspiring indie author.

Q13 FOX News

Seattle and Western Washington's source for breaking news, weather, and sports. Home of Washington’s Most Wanted and the Seattle Seahawks.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

Monica Enderle Pierce

Stories that stay with you.

Kait Nolan

Smart, sassy, small town Southern romance that makes you feel like home

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Wildhorse33's Blog

freeing the creative spirit

Here's To Us

Nerdiness Encouraged

