Posted by: Schuyler R. Thorpe | December 28, 2013

Last Call. Last Time.

For the past 17 years, I’ve been trying to get an agent’s attention for any one of my books, but coming up short. Out of the four hundred or so agents that have rejected my plethora of novels, only two actually showed any interest in my work.

14 years ago.

But as the years have worn on, I’ve been tiring of this little chase. I put out letters and out comes the rejections. Now, I realize this is a business, but the business model is seriously flawed.

So–as I posted last night on my Facebook page–2014 is going to be the last time I do this agent train of mine. I stopped submitting for 8 years because I was also tired of the rejections. But I was just plain tired. I just don’t have the energy to keep doing this forever.

At some point, I’m going to have to move on.

Then self-publishing came along and so I’m not feeling at all broken up about not being traditionally published. But for the past 17 years, I’ve watched the industry shrink and dry up, become more restrictive and more embittered and hostile towards new writers, and I now know that my place isn’t to be with them, but to be somewhere’s else.

So my Codename: Velocity novel will be the last book I’ll be submitting for this century. After which, I’m going to concentrate and focus all my efforts and energies on becoming self-published and shelve my dreams of ever seeing my books in a bookstore.

Whatever happens, my books will be professionally edited and there will be jaw-dropping covers on my books. I have no problems spending the money to get something decent out. I just don’t want my efforts to come to naught because I overlooked something or took short cuts I didn’t need.

But with a defunct social network on hand, marketing and promoting is going to take some creative thinking and doing in the coming years–seeing how Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr are all dead and buried.

So I’ve got my work cut out for me to say the least. Getting the word out is something I have a lot of experience in. The trick is to get people to take notice.

And that’s not going to be easy.

Responses

  1. For what’s it worth, I know what you’re going through. You may have seen me mention on my FB page that I have been trying to shop a book to agents and so far it’s been rejections or I haven’t had any word at all. I’m trying to see if I can get more critiques on my query letter but to be honest I’m getting a bit tired of walking on eggshells myself. I’m not sure what I’ll do yet, but right now, I’m thinking of shopping it directly to the publishers who take the fulls. Have you tried that yet? At any rate I wish you the best of luck. Peace ~ CJ

    • Publishers don’t generally take unsolicited subs, but I’m going to do it anyways–as this being my last time and all.

      • Hey. Some still do, depending on what genre your book is. I have four specific publishers on my list right now but my novel is fantasy. Let’s both keep our fingers crossed for 2014 to be better. 😉

      • I’m going to try. 🙂

  2. Woman I know has been keeping journals for years about her life in the wilderness of Alaska. I showed her some web sites to self publish and Amazon.com she went! Plus by dropping the Amazon name she has gotten into a number of bookstores. Best of luck for your work in the new year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

The Jefferies Tube

Boldly Blogging Where Many Have Blogged Before...

Gypsy Nerds

Gett'n our travel on!

Dreams of Dark Angels

The blog of fantasy writer Storm Constantine

Passion with a Dark and Dangerous Twist

A site for romance and thriller author, Cassandre Dayne

H.J. Bradley

The world of an aspiring indie author.

Q13 FOX News

Seattle and Western Washington's source for breaking news, weather, and sports. Home of Washington’s Most Wanted and the Seattle Seahawks.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

Monica Enderle Pierce

Stories that stay with you.

Kait Nolan

Smart, sassy, small town Southern romance that makes you feel like home

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Wildhorse33's Blog

freeing the creative spirit

Here's To Us

Nerdiness Encouraged

