Posted by: Schuyler R. Thorpe | February 2, 2014

How Can We Be So Smart Yet Be Fucking Stupid At The Same Time?

Frustration_by_babblebabbleIt boggles the mind when I ask people straight forward questions and the answers I get back are so laced in evasiveness and stupidity that I have to wonder just how this country of ours has fallen prey to the power of dumb?

Fucking stupid is what I call it.

Granted, none of us are going to be smeggin’ geniuses when it comes to certain things, but come on…! Writers???

We’re supposed to be at the top of our game! Fucking geniuses when it comes to our craft! So why is it that when I ask or post a question on a writer site forum, it’s like I’m holding court with a bunch of illiterate five-year-olds?

Listen assholes, just because my mode of questioning throws you for a loop it doesn’t give you the right to call me a bomb thrower or my line of questioning ‘vague’. I post my questions in the format I’m comfortable in because I’m fucking smart.  I read at the college level and I write at the college level.

It does not mean that I have to sit there with me tearing my hair out in frustrations and try to help any of you idiots connect the dots because your pitiful little brains can’t comprehend what I’m trying to say.

I for one ask the questions to challenge the writing world. I ask questions to challenge people’s perceptions of the world around them.

Unfortunately–it seems–I’m surrounded by cock hold morons who can’t even fathom that. Which leaves me to wonder: What kind of world are we leaving future generations when people like these are representative of today’s society?

I’m sorry if I don’t spell out things in the most simplest manner possible. But I don’t do simple. I do complex. I frame my mode of thinking and postulating around the most difficult theorems imaginable. It keeps me going and my wits sharp.

I for one am not going to sit there and go, “Would you like me to draw a fucking picture diagram of the question at hand so you can better understand it?”

After being born on this planet Earth for 40 fucking years, you would think that we’ve made remarkable progress. But given what I have to deal with on sites like Scribophile, it begs the question as to which progress is being made?

Because I have a funny feeling we’re regressing backwards than forwards as a society. And it’s starting show up in the online community.

Can’t imagine what it will be like in real time….

Responses

  1. Dude, this is freakin’ hilarious – and TRUE. And some of the biggest idiots on Scrib are the one making most of the pronouncements as if all of their statements are pearls of genius. Soooo bad do I want to say, “Uh, yeah, come back and talk to me when you hit the NYT bestseller list and maybe I’ll listen to your dumb ass. In the meantime, can you just STFU? Your time would be better spent doing some critting to get the damn queue moving, because in the forums your responses to what I say tell me you have the reading comprehension of an acorn.” But when I do say that, I get deleted. Sigh. Fuck it.

    • Well, who says that we’re smart animals when it comes to things like writing and such? Everyone is so dead set on tearing other people down that we cannot see what damage is being caused by our ignorance and arrogance.


Leave a Reply

Categories

The Jefferies Tube

Boldly Blogging Where Many Have Blogged Before...

Gypsy Nerds

Gett'n our travel on!

Dreams of Dark Angels

The blog of fantasy writer Storm Constantine

H.J. Bradley

The world of an aspiring indie author.

Q13 FOX News

Seattle and Western Washington's source for breaking news, weather, and sports. Home of Washington’s Most Wanted and the Seattle Seahawks.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

Stalking Fiction

Stories that stay with you.

Kait Nolan

love . empowerment. hope

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Wildhorse33's Blog

freeing the creative spirit

Here's To Us

Nerdiness Encouraged

