Posted by: Schuyler R. Thorpe | April 15, 2015

Not Even Published And I’m Already Making Waves

Bradley Simpson communicated to me earlier today that he had just finished the edits for both Vampiress Hunter books (Hollow Pursuits and Passion’s Blood) and told me that he had been dealing with some issues for the past 7 months and reading my novels really helped him through the worst of it. (Or Marlena helped him at any rate)

So hearing that, gave me some pause. Partly because I wasn’t expecting someone to tell me this, but also because I didn’t think my work would have that much of a positive impact on a reader’s life.

So this bit of welcome news gave me reason to not only cheer, but realize that I do have a purpose in this life after all: It’s to make a difference in people’s lives through my writing. (Take what I have and say, “This might be therapeutic for you.” Give people a reason to feel happy, to feel blessed, to realize that they aren’t alone–no matter what the circumstance, but just…you know…CONNECT with the reader on a fundamental level that speaks volumes about how people view their lives and those of others.)

(I also knew that my time spent in college and discussing the human condition and philosophy would come in handy as well. See, I don’t write for entertainment purposes, but to pull readers into situations that are reflective of their lives and society.

Of course, being fiction, I couldn’t just let it go at that and *pretend* that some elements will never happen. I was more intent and focused on discussing the problems and issues that many of my characters faced through (and based) on my own life experiences and personal observations. A gross sense of realism which will–undoubtedly–be recognized by many people as a ‘salve’ for problems that we face collectively as a nation and as a species.

But now having a glimpse into that world, I can now continue on with my daily experiments involving my characters and the many challenges they face on a day to day basis.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Jefferies Tube

Boldly Blogging Where Many Have Blogged Before...

Gypsy Nerds

Gett'n our travel on!

Dreams of Dark Angels

The blog of fantasy writer Storm Constantine

Passion with a Dark and Dangerous Twist

A site for romance and thriller author, Cassandre Dayne

H.J. Bradley

The world of an aspiring indie author.

Q13 FOX News

Seattle and Western Washington's source for breaking news, weather, and sports. Home of Washington’s Most Wanted and the Seattle Seahawks.

blindoggbooks

Author Tim Baker shares his thoughts, hopes and dreams. (mostly his thoughts)

Monica Enderle Pierce

Stories that stay with you.

Kait Nolan

Smart, sassy, small town Southern romance that makes you feel like home

Guild Of Dreams

Build Your World and They Will Come

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Wildhorse33's Blog

freeing the creative spirit

Here's To Us

Nerdiness Encouraged

